Looking for a pub in Sheffield? Check out Sheffield Pub Guide

Marco's Restaurant

870 Chesterfield Road
Woodseats
Sheffield
S8 0SH

Telephone: 0114 2749901

Marco's

Marco's Restaurant Reviews

Go to Marco's →

Tony - 23rd June 2014

Rating:

Great service, delicious food, perfect evening. You must visit this little gem!

Karon Grayson - 9th May 2014

Rating:

Just try Marco's, you will visit again I am sure. Great food, quaint place, lovely staff and you feel you have had a great evening.

A small place but very good.

Sharon Jones - 21st September 2013

Rating:

I have had to write a review to say how much we enjoy Marco's. We have currently been about 6 times. Every time we have enjoyed the food. Good value for money. Added bonus is the bring your own bottle policy. So makes the evening cheaper. Very friendly staff.

The only slight negative, but doesn't ruin a nice evening out, is it's a little cramped.

Do go and give this restaurant a try, with or without children.

Alan Peters - 22nd February 2012

Rating:

Totally disagree with Rob. Very friendly atmosphere with great service and reasonably priced quality food, would recommend Marco's to anyone.

Yes the decor may be dated but it had no bearing on my experience and I'm an interior designer. Charming little place.

Lindsay Edmonds - 11th November 2011

Rating:

I have got to say a massively disagree with the last review.

First of all the waitress could not be more friendlier and efficient, the food is always top standard, and never had any complaints in the past few years I have been going.

Yeah fair enough the decor is a bit dated but doesn't by far put you of you food.

Prices are really fair compared to some other Italians I have visited and the fact you can take your own wine is a bonus and keeps the price low.

All in all this is a top restaurant, with the staff and food and it proves that with how busy it is.

Sue Bacon - 30th June 2011

Rating:

We have been going to Marco's for 6 years now and we have always been served with a smile from the very happy staff.

The food is home cooked and gives me a night off from cooking at home and I leave with no dishes to wash up and at a price that is affordable in these times.

When my family visit from all over the world they always want us to take them back to Marco's, as they have never been disappointed and there is such a varied menu, something for everyone from steak and chips, pasta, pizza and so much more including starters and plenty of desserts to choose from.

There is usually fresh fish on the specials board also. Another bonus is taking your own wine, which really bumps up the price in normal restaurants. We will always go back to Marco's, it is an institution for us.

An extremely happy customer for the last 6 years and for the future.

Kay Kennedy - 22nd February 2011

Rating:

Go to this restaurant very hungry! Come out feeling extremely full!

We have been a few times and never been disappointed. The food fantastic and so is the warm, friendly atmosphere.

I would recommend the starter spare ribs, calzone pizza and lasagne. These are my favourites but every meal looks wonderful and you can also take your own wine.

Give it a whirl, I'm sure you will end up going again as it is also value for money

Ian Wood - 15th January 2011

Rating:

After reading a previous review I had to give my own review in relation to this restaurant that I have been to many times.

The food has always been top notch, and the fresh vegetables and real chips are a treat that most restaurants do not serve. The price is very reasonable, much cheaper than most of the restaurants I have been to, and the food is real food, not your usual microwave rubbish.

The place is very clean and the staff are always very friendly and the atmosphere is very relaxing, it's like home from home.

I would recommend to anyone. All in all a good night out for half of the cost at most other restaurants.

Joan Slater - 15th January 2011

Rating:

My partner and I visit this establishment frequently and have done so now for many years. Although the building is very old and the decor may be a little dated this adds to the warm and cosy atmosphere. The staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble.

The menu selection is vast, with something to suit all tastes, and the prices are very reasonable for such good quality home-cooked fresh food. An added bonus is that you can take your own bottle, although this is strictly limited to wine only.

There are a good selection of vegetarian options, and if fish is your thing then there are a number of choices on the board (the sea bass is to die for). Be sure to save room for desert, as the Crunchie sundae is a must and the other choices are second-to-none.

I have recommended this restaurant to many family members and friends over the years, all of whom have returned and agree that this is a great place to eat.

One thing I must advise is that if you are going to dine at Marco's then book, to be on the safe side. It is only small and does get extremely busy at times.

Rob Wilkinson - 8th January 2011

Rating:

Decor leaves a lot to be desired. Very run down, weird polystyrene suspended ceiling circa 1960/1970, very reminiscent of hospitals and some industrial spaces. In need of more than a lick of paint. This continues through the toilets, which I would guess were last tiled around 1970, and are in a dreadful state. The restaurant is clean, it leaves an awful lot to be desired.

Given the less than salubrious state of the restaurant and area in which it is sited one would expect that this may be a budget eaterie, but no, that's not the case.

2 adults, two kids, had a starter and a main each, came to 62 and change including one soft drink each.

We had:

Starters:

2 x meatballs
1 x prawn and avocado
1 x garlic bread

Mains

1 x lasagne
1 x pasta carbonara
1 x chicken with cream, sambuca, chill sauce
1 x pasta al fourno with seafood

Garlic bread did what it said on the tin.

The avocado was drowned by the sauce and this starter was massively overpriced at around a fiver for about 8 prawns and a quarter of an avocado.

The meatballs were OK, but nothing that you can't buy at a supermarket.

The sauce with the meatballs and prawns both tasted remarkably like they had been cooked in cream of tomato soup.

The mains were pretty dreadful apart from the chicken.

The seafood pasta was unpleasantly salty and didn't get finished as a result. The carbonara tasted of nothing other than cream, and again that weird tomato soup taste was prevalent in the lasagne, which itself was very mushy. I could have comfortably have fed that to a baby without liquidising it.

The whole meal really seemed to be less than freshly prepared. My money would be on a lot of processed sauces being used.

The one high spot was the chicken, which I would happily eat again, but priced at about 12 for one chicken breast and a small bowl of vegetables, it's unlikely I would repeat the chicken purely on fiscal grounds.

In general pasta was about 7-8 per head, and the same for a small pizza. Chicken was in the order of 12-14, steak was 14-20.

Massively overpriced for what it is, and not that nice, but it is edible I guess. Portion sizes were OK, waitresses quick and efficient enough though not particularly friendly. I wouldn't go again.

Your money would be better spent elsewhere.